Gold Airplanes

the beginnings to my manifesto

Posted in Uncategorized by washleyill on November 9, 2009

I’ve always felt a certain way about the creative process behind art but until recently I hadn’t ever gathered the motivation to organize my thoughts and put them into words.   I was posed with a few questions regarding the meaning and concept behind my work a few months ago and ever since I’ve been itching to write a manifesto.

I’ve spent a lot of my down time recently (not) reflecting on art as well as gathering input from friends.  I have been focusing primarily on what message I’m trying to convey (or not), what makes art (perhaps an unanswerable question), and what feelings (or not) I want to invoke.   I really don’t want to say anything and that’s something I know I feel strongly about.  I’m anticipating I’ll catch some flack for this so I’m preparing to write a manifesto.  I’m sure I’m not the first and I’m sure I’m not alone so is anyone interested in helping?

…and It’s not going to be an “anti-conceptual art diatribe,” but rather a reflection on how simplicity is underrated.  It’s impossible to write the rules for art or know the truth behind anything for that matter, so let’s all get along and marvel in life’s mysteries.  The universe works in amazing ways.

this will probably take a while, stay tuned…

Leave a Reply

