Gold Airplanes

again, the rocks!

Posted in Uncategorized by washleyill on October 18, 2009

Why?
Ever since I was a wee child I have had a fascination with rocks. Mostly precious gems and such as we used to “pan” for them at a place in North Carolina called “Beach Gemstones.” They’d give you a big old bucket of mountain dirt and we Wills would sit on stools next to a water chute as Dad would scoop the mixture into our pans.

So as you can imagine, I’ve accumulated a ridiculous amount of gemstones over the years. They’re now displayed in my fireplace in what most people say resembles a shrine. I digress…In short, I love rocks.

How?
One day I was on a walk around the yard with my cat friend and I started collecting rocks. I’m not sure what possessed me to start painting them, because I really don’t paint much, but I liked how they turned out. A week later I took the first batch (the color blind pattern series) to my critique group and they told me to keep going. I continued to paint.

What now?
I now have a handful of themed rock groups and I plan on making even more. I’m working on a way to make them durable (resin, spray gloss, etc) as well as a way to display them. Eventually I’ll start pegging them together in interesting shapes. There are so many possibilities, it’s hard to choose which direction to go next.

Oh yes, and I must thank the kind man at Lyngso for giving me two sample bags of polished river rocks.

Leave a Reply

